Behind every successful person is a fabulous teacher!

Yes, you read this correctly. Being a veteran educator, I am always pleasantly surprised when I run into my former students.  I feel both honored and excited to see my students and equally excited when they willingly want to share their good news with me.  Recently, this is exactly what happened.

I met a former student whom I had taught in my 6th grade science class. Now, nearly an adult, she was proud to share with me her recent acceptance as an intern with a nearby hospital.  She went on to say, it was because of my science class that she went into this field!  It is with this statement that I write about the impact of good teachers on the success of their students.

Fabulous teachers are the ones that provide continual leadership, coaching, and encouragement to their students far beyond what the curriculum dictates.  They approach their job by giving individual attention to identifying student’s talents and treasures, and encourage their students to find direction and purpose for their life.

These are some of the lessons I had learned from my very own fabulous kindergarten teacher.  She had such an impact on my life, that I knew at the young age of 5, that I wanted to become a teacher.

There has been countless times when students have approached me throughout my career, relaying this same message.  Each time however, I am left feeling equally proud, appreciated, and encouraged that my teaching career has had a profound effect on so many of my students.  After all, this is the real evaluation of my efforts!

Teachers are what make a difference in the lives of students.  And that is why it is crucial that we support and encourage their efforts.  For, the fruit of our labor becomes real each time  we are stopped by former students who are excited to share their successes and quick to acknowledge our role in their life today.

 

About authoraliceiorio

A nationally known educator, with over 20 years of teaching experience (preschool- college) is President and founder of Champion Parenting, Inc., a nonprofit.
This entry was posted in Proactive and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

